Ice Cream #MFM2P

From end of September, my “would you rather” styled ice cream problem. It’s not fully would you rather style, but it’s a good question prompt for this. The problem is probably mostly styled after Garfield Gini-Newman‘s “choose the better or best” style problems.Summary 2016.09.27 (1).png

Students were presented with the three ice cream options above & asked to guess which one offers the most ice cream? Looking back I wish I had made the images to scale … I think I will adjust that before I use this one again. (Editable image file here)

Most students guessed the block would have the most ice cream.

Groups were sent to their boards to solve:

I had to answer questions about what the various formulas on their formula sheet meant. For example, many are unsure how to read V = lw + wh + lh and how to then use it, which operations to use, etc.

Many groups did not notice the discrepancy in units between the various shapes. We had a discussion about converting units. I did some direct teaching about how students tend to make less mistakes if they convert the lengths BEFORE calculating volume, rather than trying to convert cubic units (if calculating by hand). I sent students back to their boards to correct their work so that they have comparable units for each shape.

First time I’ve done this one. I like it & will use it again w/ a few tweaks.

All materials here.

– Laura Wheeler (Teacher @ Ridgemont High School, OCDSB; Ottawa, ON)

Leave a Reply

